Board, Staff & Advisory Committee Founded by Lawyers, Supported by the Legal Community

Board of Directors

Emeritus Members


maya (4)

Maya Crawford Peacock

Executive Director
Maya joined the CEJ as its Executive Director in 2016. Prior to heading the CEJ, she worked for Legal Aid Services of Oregon (LASO) for over a decade, where she helped coordinate pro bono projects in their Portland Office before becoming LASO’s first Statewide Pro Bono Manager. She also served as CEJ’s Associate Director between 2007-2010. Maya is a 2003 graduate of Lewis and Clark Law School, and went to Antioch College for her undergraduate degree. She has dedicated her career to serving low-income Oregonians, and is driven to make the justice system fair and accessible to everyone, not just to those who can afford a lawyer. Maya’s favorite thing about working for the CEJ (besides her amazing co-workers) is having the opportunity to work with lawyers from every practice area and every corner of the state on their shared goal of increasing resources for legal aid.

When not working, Maya spends time with her culinary diva wife Margaret, their young daughter Muriel, and their poodle mix Pippa. They love reading, eating, spending time with family and friends, and creating elaborate themed family Halloween costumes.

"My superpower is buying fabric for sewing projects. My kryptonite is never getting around to working on said projects."

Ayla Ercin

Annual Fund Director
Ayla joined the CEJ as its Annual Fund Director in July of 2021. She is a native of Atlanta, Georgia, but began her career in non-profit fundraising in New York City, where she worked for Amnesty International and the Whitney Museum of American Art. Ayla went on to get a J.D. from Columbia University Law School and an LL.M. from the London School of Economics. She practiced transactional and entertainment law in New York City before relocating to Portland, Oregon in 2010. Ayla’s legal practice in Oregon focused primarily on helping entrepreneurs found and develop their small businesses. She is proud to have helped her client companies grow to become respected members of the business community that provide employment, products and services throughout the state and the nation. Ayla is also a co-founder of Umi Organic noodles, a small business in Portland, Oregon that supplies grocery stores, schools, and farmers’ markets with fresh, organic noodles. Ayla is thrilled to join the Campaign for Equal Justice, and sees it as an opportunity to use her non-profit fundraising experience to help make legal services more accessible. Ayla looks forward to helping our legal community expand its capacity to serve all those in need, regardless of their ability to pay.

"My superpower: strong ability to be invited into a book club. Current status: 3 book clubs. My kryptonite: Weak in reading all assigned book club books, but will shamelessly attend the dinner nevertheless."

Shari Nilsson

Director of Operations
Shari has been a member of Team CEJ since 2008. She attended Portland State University, and worked as a legal secretary and office manager for Lewis & Clark Law School’s Legal Clinic, then as an administrative assistant in the office of the Dean of the College at Lewis & Clark College, before taking some time off after the birth of her now-adult twins. Her career has been centered on diversity and flexibility, with tasks as wide-ranging as event planning, accounting, database administration, preparation of legal documents, graphic design, assisting with law student education, meeting facilitation, preparation of legislative history materials, and website design. She is proud to be a part of an organization dedicated to providing access to justice for all Oregonians. In her spare time, she enjoys Swedish language and culture, baking, music, doing genealogical research, reading, and birdwatching. Shari and her family relocated to Sweden in summer 2022, and she is now working remotely for CEJ.

"My superpower is knowing how to bake all sorts of tasty Swedish cakes, cookies, rolls, and buns. My kryptonite is eating them."

Heidi Thompson

Program Assistant
Heidi joined the CEJ team in 2021. She attended Willamette University where she majored in Humanities with a minor in Art History. In addition to a strong foundation with a well-rounded education, Heidi brings a passion for social justice, human rights, and environmental protection to her work and her life. She has worked for both local and international non-profits. While she is not a native Oregonian, Heidi is excited to make this new community her home. She loves to travel to new places and share in other country’s cultures. When not off on an adventure, she enjoys settling in with a good book, watching movies, singing and listening to music, stitching embroidery, spending time with family and friends, and getting out in nature.

"My superpower is making personal and thoughtful things for people as gifts. My kryptonite is over-committing and not being able to finish them on time."

Advisory Committee

Rose K Alappat
Carlotta O Alverson
Noam Amir-Brownstein
Howard G Arnett
Hon Thomas A Balmer
Hon Stacie Fatka Beckerman
Rep Suzanne Bonamici
Kristin L Bremer Moore
Larry A Brisbee
Gov Kate Brown
Dean Marcilynn Burke
Dominic M Campanella
Barry P Caplan
Erica A Clausen
Linda D Clingan
G Valerie Colas
Sarah J Crooks
Tim Cunningham
Michael C Dotten
Elisa J Dozono
Jeffrey M Edelson
Amy Edwards
Paul R Ehrlich
Brien Joseph Flanagan
Hon Angela M Franco Lucero
Stanton R Gallegos
John C Gartland
Gerry Gaydos
Hon Timothy C Gerking
Kristie L Gibson
Denise Nicole Gorrell
Kamron L Graham
S Ward Greene
Ari D Halpern
Jessica T Hamilton
Sandra A Hansberger

Edwin A Harnden
James K Hein
Sara Christina Heskett
Henry H Hewitt
Audrey B Hirsch
Hon Mary M James
Gina Anne Johnnie
Todd R Johnston
Nicholas A Kampars
Hon Mustafa T Kasubhai
Matthew H Kehoe
Elizabeth C Knight
Sara Kobak
Hon Tina Kotek
Wayne D Landsverk
Frank V Langfitt, III
Steve D Larson
Shayda Zaerpoor Le
Eric B Lindauer
Brena Moyer Lopez
Sarah M Lowe
Molly K Marcum
Julia Elizabeth Markley
Aruna A Masih
Hon Judith H Matarazzo
Katherine A McDowell
Tracy M McGovern
Jamie E McLeod-Skinner
Sonia A Montalbano
Keil M Mueller
Hon Adrienne C Nelson
Darcy Michele Norville
Kathryn Olney
Jane Paulson
Beverly C Pearman
Willa B Perlmutter

Stephen V Piucci
Travis S Prestwich
Sen Floyd F Prozanski, Jr
Kathleen J Rastetter
Hon Tobias Read
Liani J Reeves
Hon Ellen F Rosenblum
Joshua L Ross
Laura Renee Salerno Owens
Daniel P Santos
Andrew M Schpak
Jessica A Schuh
Rachele R Selvig
Lane P Shetterly
Charmin B Shiely
Hon Kamala H Shugar
Hon Gregory F Silver
Hon Michael H Simon
Thomas W Sondag
Richard G Spier
N Robert Stoll
Shane P Swilley
Andrea H Thompson
E Walter Van Valkenburg
Amy N Velazquez
Michelle Vlach-Ing
Mark R Wada
Hon Martha Lee Walters
Hon Ulanda L Watkins
Heather L Weigler
Peter A Werner
Jennifer A Williamson
Ross M Williamson
Theresa (Terry) L Wright
Ira Zarov

Scroll to Top